March League Nights Postponed

In light of recent events with the coronavirus pandemic, the MPL staff had a discussion & came to the difficult decision to postpone the next 3 events, at public locations. With ALL the facts, it was clear this was the best thing to do. The following will be postponed: Friday March 13 – casual league Saturday March 14 – open league Monday March 16 – women’s league We have come to this conclusion for a few reasons:

• The public nature of the 2 locations where these events will be held.

• David Morris’ situation – Dave has a cold but was ordered to leave work today & get tested for the coronavirus – he is now in isolation until test results come back in 1-3 days.

• Dave will not be around to add another machine, fix machines, or give change, which may be problematic at a facility with just 6 machines

We will poll league members & reassess the situation closer to the date of the next tournament. These 3 league nights are NOT canceled, & will be rescheduled, to be announced later.

League Nights for 2020

In order to help plan for the league nights we have the dates for the open league and woman’s league. Some locations are still to be determined.

Open League dates:

Thursday January 30 – The Forks

Thursday February 27 – The Forks

Saturday March 14 – AMCC

Thursday April 9 –

Thursday May 7 –

Thursday June 11 –

Thursday July 23 –

Thursday August 20 –

Sunday September 20 – Winnipeg Beach

Friday October 30  – (SUPER League Night)

League championship – Saturday November 14

Women’s League Dates:

Monday January 27 – The Forks

Monday February 24 –

Monday March 16 –

Monday April 13 –

Monday May 11 –

Monday June 22 –

Monday July 20 –

Monday August 31 –

Sunday September 20 – Winnipeg Beach

Monday October 26 –

2019 MPL WOMEN’S LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP – RESULTS

It was a great night for some championship pinball over at the new Lightning Arcade, as we crowned the second ever women’s league champion in Manitoba.

Congratulations to Jill H on not only being the league points champ, but also winning the MPL women’s league playoffs & securing the 2019 women’s championship! And if you think Jill’s playoff run to gold was as easy as her season run, think again. In the semifinal, Jill & Samara had a fight to the finish going the full 7 games with Jill edging out Samara by a mere 7,000 points in the final game of Split Second. In the final, Jill beat Jody, who claimed her 2nd silver plaque in 2 years.

In the bronze match, Tammy K & Samara M battled down to the final game of Medieval Madness in the best of 3 series, with both players leapfrogging the other & both scoring well over 30 million! In the end, Tammy captured the bronze plaque with a last ball comeback.

And congrats to Michelle F for winning the best Christmas sweater competition! Honourable mentions went to Tiffany V & Franca C.

Congrats to ALL!!! Final results below:

1. Jill H
2. Jody L
3. Tammy K
4. Samara M
5. Jessie F
6. Sheri B
7. Heather S
8. Annika F
9. Lydia F
9. Bonni O
9. Tiffany V
9. Cathy F
9. Franca C
9. Tanya M
9. Jeannie A
9. Michelle F

The Manitoba Pinball League Playoff and The Grey Cup repost

On Sunday, November 24 we will crown a winner of the league playoffs. Later that night there is a different league crowing a winner. To help everyone watch the Grey Cup we are hoping to complete as many rounds as possible on Friday, November 22.

I am reposting this as Blue and Gold look good on a jersey it might be hard to read on a website.

Playoff Seeding Tie-breaker At The Pinhead Cup

The playoff bracket seeding might need to be updated as Jody and Lance are tied with 193 points. In order to break the tie there will be a best of 3 match at the Pinhead Cup. Next league season Manitoba Pinball League will have a set way to break ties. To offer input into how ties should be broken send an email to mr.miller@manitobapinball.com

The playoffs for the league are best of 7. The highest seed has choice of game or position. The person who does not win gets the choice for the next game.